Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge Tennessee are two of the top spots in the Southeast for honeymooners because of all that the Great Smoky Mountain towns offer visitors. There is just so much to see and do! And, thanks to Tennessee's marriage laws, getting married is surprisingly easy with little red tape. While a Tennessee marriage license is required, blood tests are not, and there's no waiting period to obtain a license. There are a variety of wedding chapels, each with its own unique personality. Several are conveniently located in town, while others can be found tucked into romantic mountain settings. Wedding services are available year round.

While "walk-in" weddings are possible, it's wise to make reservations at the chapel of your choice prior to arriving. You can even have a cabin wedding by a river or lake side. Ask a reservationist for a minister list to make your wedding and honeymoon memories last forever. You have several accommadations to choose from, including secluded cabins in lake-side locations or river-side chalets. We also have areas which would be great for additional family coming in for the wedding services. A reservationist will be glad to help you plan your Smoky Mountain accommadations. Some amenities to choose from are king-sized beds, hot tubs, whirlpools, gamerooms, pooltables and big screens. Complete with hot tub, fireplace and beautiful Smoky Mountain scenery, you'll have a wide range of accommodations to choose from for your special trip with Pigeon River Cabins.

Marriage License Locations

A State of Tennessee Marriage License can be obtained from any of the the Sevier County Clerk's Marriage License Centers. There is no waiting period and no blood test are required. However, both parties must apply in person. A valid driver's license, state-issued ID, passport, or birth certificate is required for proof of age. No appointment is necessary. License fee is $36 (cash only in exact amount).

Sevier County Clerk Marriage Centers

Gatlinburg: Shilling Center
Reagan Drive
(865) 430-3404
Monday and Friday (8:30-4:00)
Wednesday (8:30-Noon)
Saturday (9:00-3:00)

Sevierville: Sevier County Courthouse
Court Avenue
(865) 453-5502
Monday thru Friday (8:30-4:30)
Saturday (8:00-11:00)

Pigeon Forge: Pigeon Forge City Hall
Pine Mountain Road
(865) 908-6613
Saturday (9:00-4:00)

Tennessee Marriage Certificate Requirements

  • Both the Bride and Groom must be at least 18 years old.
  • both the Bride and Groom must have either a valid driver's license or birth certificate.
  • If you are not a citizen of the United States, please bring a valid Passport.
  • Previously married persons must know the approximate date their divorce became official, or the approximate date of a spouse's death.
  • There are no waiting periods or blood tests.
  • You may get married the same day as your license is issued.
  • You may obtain your license up to 30 days before your wedding date. (Your license is only valid 30 days.)
  • Both the Bride and Groom must be present to obtain a marriage license.